Perrigo, NRG, Chesapeake Utilities headline corporate governance awards

Nov 07, 2014
<p>Governance and compliance teams from Perrigo, Chesapeake Utilities, NRG, Freescale, PepsiCo, Intel and others take top honors at <em>Corporate Secretary</em>&rsquo;s seventh annual awards</p>

Corporate Secretary has announced the winners of the Corporate Governance Awards 2014, which recognize excellence in governance, risk and compliance for companies across North America.

This year’s winners include PepsiCo, Prudential, Target, Intel, and PSEG, to name just a few. The full list of award categories and winners is provided below. To view the full list of nominees and the process by which they were chosen, please visit the Corporate Secretary website.

‘There are lots of rankings and awards for boards and directors. By contrast, these awards celebrate the corporate secretaries, general counsel and other governance officers toiling behind the scenes,’ says Neil Stewart, editorial & research director of Corporate Secretary, which is owned by Cross Border, the publisher of IR Magazine.

‘The other 364 days of the year they work in the shadow of senior management and directors. Today they take a well-deserved bow.’

Corporate Secretary’s Corporate Governance Awards celebrate the best efforts of individuals, teams and companies in the world of governance, risk and compliance. This year, more than 100 nominations were received for the 13 award categories.

These were then reviewed by a panel of judges including two former chairpersons of the Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals.

Corporate Governance Awards 2014 winners

Best CSR disclosure policy

Best shareholder engagement
TIE:  PepsiCo and Prudential Financial

Best use of technology by a corporate secretary or GC
General Electric

Best proxy statement (small to mid-cap)
NorthWestern Corp

Best proxy statement (large cap)
Target Corp

Rising star
Courtney McCormick, PSEG

Governance professional of the year (small to mid-cap)
Stacie Roberts, Chesapeake Utilities Corp

Governance professional of the year (large cap)
Todd Kingma, Perrigo Company

Corporate governance team of the year (small to mid-cap)
Chesapeake Utilities Corp

Corporate governance team of the year (large cap)
NRG Energy

Best compliance & ethics program (small to mid-cap)
Freescale Semiconductor

Best compliance & ethics program (large cap)
Perrigo Company

Best overall corporate governance – international

Lifetime achievement
Lydia Beebe – corporate secretary and chief governance officer, Chevron

Award sponsors

Broadridge, Center for Audit Quality, Computershare Georgeson, Canadian Society of Corporate Secretaries, Diligent Board Member Services, EMC, GE, Gibson Dunn, Innisfree, Marsh & McLennan Companies, McGraw-Hill Financial, Monsanto, National Association of Corporate Directors, Okapi Partners, RR Donnelley

Sign up to get stories direct to your inbox
logo-black logo-black